October already, quick year this one, we’re now into “holiday season” which in America means Halloween, Thanksgiving and Christmas!  Scary thought, more scary than my Halloween card I have to show you!.

Saturday was World Card Making Day, so late in the afternoon I decided to have a bit of a play and bring out my Penny Black’s again.  The Penny Black Saturday Challenge was my starting point, they’d like to see either a project made for Halloween or with traditional Halloween colours.  I didn’t have time to colour up an image so looked through my stamps for something else suitable that I could “adapt” and came across Nature’s Dance, more often used for Christmas cards but it struck me as a brilliant Halloween stamp too!

 

What sold it for me was that the bird in the tree looks like it could be a crow, especially as I stamped an embossed it in Judikins Black Diamond EP which is black and glitter and really sparkles.  The fantastic backing paper is from an older DCWV pack, it’s all purple and grungy and I accented it even further by spritzing it with sparkly Smooch Spray in Tangerine.  I then stamped and embossed Nature’s Dance, and used an embossing pen with the EP to create the black ground around the tree.

I took a scrap of black card and embossed it with the Black Diamond EP and used the Martha Stewart Icicle border punch to create the strip on the left (something else typically used for Christmas), adding self adhesive American Craft’s ribbon to it.  I used some more of the embossed paper and a Memory Box die for the bats.  Everything was then mounted on to orange and purple card and popped on to a Kraft card blank.

The sentiment is from Northwoods Rubber Stamps and it was stamped on to the smooth side of orange Bazzill card with, appropriately, ColorBox Wicked Black ink and then cut out with a Memory Box label die which screamed “gothic” at me.  In fact, there are only two Halloween items on this card (the bats and the sentiment stamp), everything else is either fairly generic or was meant for Christmas!  I very much like what I ended up with though!

 

Card Recipe:

  • Card: Blank from Michaels ~ The Paper Studio ~ Orange Copy Paper
  • DP: DCVW Old World Mat Stack
  • Stamps: Penny Black Nature’s Dance ~ Northwoods Happy Haunting
  • Ink: ColorBox Wicked Black ~ Versamark ~ Distress Ink Ripe Persimmon
  • Embellies: Judikins Black Diamond EP ~ American Crafts Self Adhesive Ribbon ~ Gems from Michaels ~ Smooch Ink Spray
  • Tools: Heat Gun ~ MS Icicle Punch ~ Memory Box A Bunch of Bats & Bistro Label Dies

 

***************************************************

Challenges:

PBSC ~ Halloween or Halloween Colours

Pixies Snippets Challenge ~ Use Up Your Scraps (the black card I embossed)

Crafty Hazel’s Patterned Paper Challenge ~ Anything Goes with Patterned Paper

Sister Act Card Challenge ~ Anything Goes

Simon Says Wednesday Challenge ~ Finishing Touch

Crafty Calendar Challenge ~ Bingo (Diagonal line of Sparkle, Sentiment & Embossing)

Divas By Design ~ Spooky Creations

Fab ‘n’ Funky ~ Halloween

Kraftin’ Kimmie ~ Halloween

Buckwell’s Crafty Challenge ~ Anything Goes (2nd entry)

Crafting At The Weekend ~ Anything Goes (2nd entry)

 One Crazy Stamper ~ Halloween or Christmas

