I’m almost all out of spare birthday cards in my little box so I decided to start making a few up to have on hand.  I used more new stash and some pretty old stash too!  I was lucky enough to receive five LOTV stamps for Christmas, they had an offer on at the time, five for twenty quid, so I used up money from my MIL and put the new stamps by until Christmas Day.

This one is Rosie With Cake and she’s having her first outing here.

She’s such a little cutie!  I coloured her with Prisma pencils and mounted her onto red card that had been punched with a Martha Stewart border punch.  The backing papers are really old, the larger piece is not known to me, it was free on a UK card magazine and I was given it.  The smaller piece was also free on a UK card magazine but I know it’s from a back by Pink Petticoat, it too was mounted on to the same punched red card as the main image.  Everything was edged with TH Distress Ink Aged Mahogany too.

There’s some organza ribbon from JoAnn’s and a heart charm tied on with some silver cord.  The flowers are Wild Orchid Crafts and I used a decorative pin for the very first time ever, it has a couple of red seed beads stuck on the pointy end to protect the recipients fingers, which is a tip I saw very recently on someone’s blog.  That’s all nestled on a couple of leaves punched from scrap green card.

Finally there’s the sentiment.  I had stamped one of the circle LOTV stamps but couldn’t make it fit where I wanted it to go and it didn’t look right anywhere else, so I had to resort to choosing another sentiment and stamping it directly on the card after everything else was complete and stuck down!  I hate doing that I can tell you!!!  It’s from Penny Black and I like how it really stands out from the patterned paper.

Card Recipe:

  • Card: Kraft blank from Michaels ~ Red and green card from The Paper Studio ~ GinaK white stamping card
  • DP: Unknown large floral backing piece ~ Pink Petticoat
  • Stamps: LOTV Rosie With Cake ~ Penny Black Salutations clear set
  • Ink: Memento Tuxedo Black ~ TH Distress Ink Aged Mahogany ~ Versafine Black
  • Embellies: Wild Orchid Craft flowers ~ Little Yellow Bicycle pin ~ Organza Ribbon from JoAnns ~ Silver cord recycled from a gift ~ Charm from Crafty Bitz
  • Tools: Martha Stewart border and leaf punch

***********************************************

Challenges:

Allsorts ~ Spring Flowers

Pixies Snippets Playground ~ Use Up Your Scraps (the green card, stamping card and the Pink Petticoat DP)

Wags n Whiskers ~ Anything Goes

Crafty Hazel’s Patterned Paper Challenge ~ Anything Goes

Buckwell’s Crafty Challenge ~ Anything Goes

Crafty Calendar Challenge ~ What’s New?

Sister Act Card Challenge ~ Anything Goes

Simply Create Too ~ Happy Mother’s Day or For A Female

Scrapping 4 Fun ~ Happy Birthday

Winter Wonderland ~ Show Us Your Metal (the heart charm)