It’s nice to do something different once in a while, I seem to stamp and colour a lot these days, so when I needed a couple of birthday cards last weekend I decided to have a play again.

I found a half a sheet of watercolour card wedged in to the pad and pulled out all my spray inks too.  After a very inky session with lots of spraying in my homemade spray booth, aka a large lidded box, I ended up with a pleasing little piece.  I’d already picked out the large Stampendous Ranunculus Field stamp to use on the finished item, I wanted something bold to go with the spray inks.

This is the first card..

After stamping the image with black Verafine ink I cut the panel down and edged it with Festive Berries Distress Ink.  It seemed to me that the centers of the flowers looked large and open, like they needed something, so I settled on some faceted glass like brads in bright colours of green, pink and blue.  The backing card is Bazzil and the image was popped up on foam tape.

 

The second card used the much more “splodgy” end of the inked panel, it looks a little more heavy handed than the first one I think.

And I wish I’d turned the panel upside down before stamping as I think it looks a little top heavy.  To offset the heaviness I added a little organza bow on the bottom right.  I also edged this panel with Festive Berries DI and used some brads on the flower centers, this time picking a clear and green small brads and a larger one in pale pink.  The mounting card is also Bazzil.

I really like the simplicity of both of these cards though, they remind me that I should do more of what I feel like instead of always reaching for my coloured pencils and a cute image!  The top one is already winging its way to England for my SIL’s birthday too, the other one is in the card box for now but I have two more women family members with birthdays coming up so I’m sure it won’t stay there for long!

Card Recipe:

  • Card: Blanks from The Paper Company ~ Canson Water Colour Card ~ Bazzil
  • Stamp: Stampendous Ranunculus Field
  • Ink: Distress Ink Festive Berries ~ Versafine Black ~ Various Spray Inks from Tattered Angels, Perfect Pearls Mists & Smooch
  • Embellies: Brads from Michaels ~ Organza Ribbon from JoAnns

*****************************************

Challenges:

Allsorts ~ Use Brads (both cards)

Penny Black At Allsorts ~ Blossoms and Bows (second card)

Pixies Snippets Playground ~ Use Up Your Scraps (the watercolour card)

Sister Act Card Challenge ~ Anything Goes

Papertake Weekly ~ Anything Goes

Bunny Zoe Crafts ~ For The Girls

Stamp And Create ~ Is It Spring Yet?

Simon Says Stamp Wednesday Challenge ~ Special Lady/Girly