Yeah, so I got back in to my craft room at the weekend, and I did something for a DT commitment, and then very surprisingly, I did something else for the fun of it too!  I know!!

It was just a quick little Christmas card for Mo’s current Rudolph Day Challenge, that I haven’t managed to join in with yet.  I have a number of pieces of Christmas papers in small pads that have quite large images on them that make it difficult to cut up and place on a card with lots of other elements.  So I came up with a simple of idea of using a few up.  It should have been simple, but in reality it took a lot longer than was necessary, mostly because if you don’t plan very well (and I’m sorely out of practice), you’ll be a bit stuck die cutting your card blank if you only have a Cuttlebug.

But this is the card:

And my idea was to cut a shape in the empty space, cut a matching shape in the card blank, decorate the inside and then stamp a large sentiment on the inside to show through the aperture you cut.  But what happened was this!  I cut the aperture on the paper with a Spellbinders Oval die and traced around the opening to cut the matching aperture on the card blank.  And then realised I wasn’t going to get the open card into the Cuttlebug to cut the hole.  The paper is 4.5″ by 6.5″, which is wides than the bed of my die cutting machine.  I tried packing out the card blank with paper but I still ended up with an embossed oval on the back of the blank, so I ended up cutting the opening out with a scalpal.  This wasn’t as neat as using the die, so after stamping the Stampin’ Up verse, I stuck it to the inside front of the card to cover up the rough cut-out.  And if you’re wondering about the single snowflake, I edged the inside of the opening with a red ink pen and the pen slipped!  I needed something to cover up the boo-boo!

 

I’ve got a few more sheets of paper like this with different designs on them, so if I can come up with a way of reliably cutting the aperture on the card blank I’ll be making more of these.

Card Recipe:

  • Card: Blank from Michaels ~The Paper Company
  • DP: Recollections Christmas Pack
  • Ink: Versamagic Red Magic
  • Stamp: Stampin” Up More Merry Messages
  • Embellies: Whispers Red Ink Pen ~ Kraft snowflake (Martha punch) from the snippets tin ~ Red gem from Michael’s
  • Tools: Cuttlebug ~ Spellbinders Oval Die

****************************************

Challenges:

Scrappy Mo’s Rudolph Day ~ Make A Christmas Card

Pixies Snippets Playground ~ Use Up Your Scraps (the snowflake)

Sister Act Card Challenge ~ Anything Goes

Crafty Hazel’s Patterned Paper Challenge ~ Anything Goes

Simon Says Stamp ~ Anything Goes