Middle of the month, time for a new challenge at Sparkles.  My teamie Maryvonne has chosen the lovely theme of Lace and/or Pearls so there should be plenty of scope for you there.

As always we have two fantastic sponsors for you again, a $15 voucher from:

And 3 digis from:

 

For my card I had an 80th birthday card to make for my Mother-in-Law and decided to use both lace and pearls, and to go for a girly, flowery, shabby chic kind of theme. This is what I came up with:

The two larger papers are Raspberry Road, from a book that was free with a UK card magazine a couple of years ago.  The smaller piece has a text background and was a digital off-cut.  I downloaded the free image of Violets from The Graphics Fairy, resized it in Word and changed to opacity to about 60% to make it look a bit faded out and printed it on to the text digi paper.

The edges of the papers were torn or folded and everything was edged with Distress Ink in Vintage Photo, I even stitched around the main piece too!  I added a strip of lace down the centre and added some pearl clusters from Michaels.

The focus of the card is the sentiment and the flowers and I’m really happy how they came out.

The sentiment if from Inkadinkado and it was embossed in black on to more of the Raspberry Road paper, it didn’t emboss as cleanly as I would have liked though.  I cut it out with a Marvy Uchida oval punch and then cut out two more ovals from thin card. These were stuck together and then the stamped oval was stuck to it to provide a bit of stability for the really thin paper Finally it was inked with the Distress Ink again and popped up on foam dots.  The bow is seam binding and the roses and Calla Lily are from Wild Orchid Crafts and they’re sitting on Martha Stewart punched leaves.  The stick pin in from Little Yellow Bicycle and I stuck it down with some Glossy Accents but when I arranged the flowers it moved and I didn’t notice!  It should have been down and to the right a bit, but I can’t do anything with it now!!  I’ll just have to call that a design feature!

So that’s what I did this month, I hope you can find time to join in the fun, we love to see your beautiful creations.  Please pop over to the main Sparkles blog, there’s a lot of pretty inspirations from my team mates.