Finally!  I’m happy to see the back of Winter right now, looking forward to some warmer, sunnier days this week and the rapidly melting snow, let’s hope that’s the last of it.  My card today is a Penny Black one for the Penny Black Saturday Challenge which wants to see Spring themed cards.  I have some cute PB stamps of bunnies in flower pots that I wanted to use and so looked through my stash for suitable papers.  I thought I’d use a flowery piece, but I came across a couple of sheets in my stash that were pink and had fluffy white sheep on them!  No idea where they came from, apart from England as they were in a pile my Mam gave me, but that’s about it! ** (EDIT – Thanks to our resident Miss Marple (Di @ Pixies Crafty Workshop) the papers are Papermania Hugs & Honey) .  How stinking cute are they!

 I didn’t add too many embellishments as I didn’t want to cover it up!  I based the LO on the current sketch at Sketch & Stash, I liked it as soon as I saw it but I knew it was going to be challenging as it required two images.  The bunny on the left is Bunny and Bees, but the one in the right is from the bigger stamp Bunny Friends, which has five bunnies in pots all in various poses.  I choose this one based on the ease of masking him, as he was at the end of the row, but in hindsight he really look s a bit startled, like he has absolutely no clue how in the world he got here or what he’s supposed to be doing here!  Or perhaps he’s just spied Mr MacGregor heading towards them!

I coloured my bunnies with Prisma pencils and added a bit of Stickles here and there.  I then added some leaves (a la Sarn!) to make use of the white space around the panel.  The sentiment was generated on the computer.  I used an EKSuccess and an MS punch to create the larger flowers, an MS punch for the leaves and then added a couple of little Petaloo flowers here and there, along with some buttons.  I was going to add more leaves of flourishes but I really didn’t want to cover up that cute sheep paper.

Card Recipe:

  • Card: Blank cut from pale blue card bought in the UK ~ The Paper Company scraps for backing, flowers and leaves
  • DP: Papermania Honey & Hugs (Miss Marple strikes again… aka Di!!)
  • Stamps: Penny Black  Bunny and Bees & Bunny Friends ~ TPC Studio Autumn Harvest
  • Ink: Memento London Fog ~ Versamagic Aloe Vera & Key Lime
  • Embellies: Prisma Pencils ~ Yellow, Crystal & Pink Stickles ~ Buttons and embroidery thread from stash ~ Petaloo flowers
  • Tools: EKSucces Flower Punch ~ Martha Stewart Flower & Rose Leaf Punches ~ Computer

*****************************************

Challenges:

Penny Black Saturday Challenge ~ Spring Into Spring

Sketch and Stash ~ Current LO (really old paper and new PB stamp Bunny & Bees)

Stamp & Create ~ Fur or Feathers

Cute Card Thursday ~ Spring Fever