Here we are, back to Monday.  How was your weekend?  Hope the weather was kind.  We had a beautiful, gentle and sunny weekend in SE Michigan, and we actually stayed home and relaxed instead of tearing here, there and everywhere, which made a very nice change.  The only fly in the ointment was a broken tooth on Friday evening!  That’ll teach me to snack on corn chips before dinner!  Must call up the dentist office when they open at 9am this morning, not a great start to the week!

After my CAS card yesterday, I went completely over the top (for me) on this next one I’m afraid, the jury is still out on this end, I like some bits of it, but not convinced on the whole thing!  I’ll let you decide.

I decided to have a go at black hair but I definitely need a bit more practice in that colour range!  The image is the beautiful Snow Queen from Lili of the Valley and I coloured her with my Prismas and a lot of glitter and Stickles before cutting her out with a Spellbinders Oval die and mounting her on to a Spellbinders Lacy Oval.  The paper is all from the snippets box.  The bottom piece is DCWV and the stripey piece is SEI and everything was edged with DI Victorian Velvet ink.  The fence is a new die that I picked up on my trip home to England, it’s a Crafts Too die simply called Fence, and I glittered it with more Stickles.  What I should have done was slap some Frantage all over it, but I thought of this after I’d glittered it and then wondered what would happen to the Stickles when attacked with a heat gun!  I wasn’t brave enough to find out!

I also used the Memory Box Corner Bow die and found some ready punched snowflakes in the right colours, all from snippets of card.  The sentiment is also LOTC, from one of the Christmas Circle sets, it was stamped in Memento Rose Bud ink and cut out with a Scalloped Spellbinder, which I thought were supposed to fit these sentiments, but mine don’t!  I must have the wrong size dies or something as they’re either a fraction too small (like this one), or just a bit too big!  Another excuse to go shopping I suppose!

Card Recipe:

  • Card: Blank from Michaels ~ The Paper Company ~ Penny Black ~ GinaK Pure Luxury White
  • DP: DCWV ~ SEI
  • Stamps: LOTV Snow Queen and Circular Christmas Sentiments
  • Ink: Colorbox Wicked Black ~ DI Victorian Velvet ~ Memento Rose Bud
  • Embellies: Stickles Yellow, Cotton Candy, Crystal & Frosted White ~ Martha Stewart Coarse Crystal Glitter ~ Prisma Pencils ~ Gems from Michaels
  • Tools: Cuttlebug ~ Memory Box Corner Bow Die ~ Crafts Too Fence Die ~ Spellbinders Ovals, Lacy Ovals & Scalloped Circles ~ Matha Stewart & Fiskars snowflake punches

****************************************************

Challenges:

Winter Wonderland ~ Spots & Stripes

Christmas Stamping All Year Long ~ Pick from a list (I choose Stickles, Rhinestones (gems) & Distress Ink)

Crafty Hazels Christmas Extra ~ Anything Goes

LOTV Monthly Challenge ~ Use a LOTV image and a LOTV sentiment

Pixies Crafty Snippets Playground ~ Use Up Your Scraps

Crafty Hazels Christmas Challenge ~ Use a frame, window or aperture

Hiding In My Craft Room ~ Die Cuts

Southern Girls ~ Die Cuts or Punches