Tags

Yes, I know, don’t lecture me!  It’s been a while hasn’t it?  Two weeks in fact since I made a card and nine days since I last posted here.  Appalling I must say.  Too much busy and too little time unfortunately, plus tons of rain (monsoon like at one point), weekends away, lots of gardening, thunderstorms  and an EF1 tornado.

But that’s all superfluous waffle really.  What I really want to say is “I made a card”, although, I’m not sure if I like it!  I actually started this over a week ago and had one of those love hate relationships with it, I liked it then I didn’t, should it go in the bin or should I keep it?  Will I use it or will I chuck it to the back of the pile?  I still don’t know whether or not I like it, but it’s all I’ve got to show you at the moment, so it’s this or nothing!!

I based it on the first sketch of a new Christmas challenge blog which is all about sketches, but I rotated it by 90 degrees to better suit the Penny Black image that I wanted to use.  I coloured the Hedgies with water colour pencils and Stickles and edged it with DI, which is looking a bit dark in the photo for some reason.  I cut the image out with a Nesties die and then sliced the top and bottom off to try and make the whole thing smaller.  The sentiment is from a Penny Black clear set.  All the papers are various years of DCWV Christmas Stacks, I tried to go with a blue and green theme, but I think the green has ended up being a little overpowering.  I went very simple with the embellishments and just used a few glittered snowflakes that were free with a UK card magazine.  I think by the time I got to this stage I was so tired with this card that I really struggled to get it finished and really ended up taking the easy option unfortunately.  I have a couple of nieces in the UK who I know would love these little skating Hedgies, so if I decide to keep it I’ll probably send it to them!

************************************************************************

Challenges:

Christmas Challenges With Sketches ~ Sketch #1

ABC Christmas Challenge ~ K is for Kids and Kraft, with the optional extra of making a gift card holder

Bah Humbug ~ Surprise Us ~ Pick your own theme or make something with a surprise in it.  I went with the theme of a sketch using Kraft