And to get in the watery mood this morning we took our boats to our local lake for a 2+ hour paddle!  Brilliant way to start the weekend, the lake was almost deserted and the surface was like a mill pond, just beautiful.

So back at home I rifled through the stamps and came up with a new one I got the other month but hadn’t inked yet, called In A Nutshell, and decided that I’d follow in this little meeces paw steps and take it easy for the rest of the day.  It’s been too hot for me since July kicked in, in the low nineties most of the time and absolutely no rain at all.  My craft room is up stairs and usually gets too hot but I dragged a big fan upstairs which has helped keep me cool, but has wrecked havoc with my desk, lol, most of which is now all over the floor!

Anyway, I persevered and made a card.  Naturally I stamped the image on to WATER colour paper and then WATER coloured the image too with Memento inks!  I followed the sketch at Sketch and Stash for the LO, and I worked in a number of punches as Fuzzy Wuzzy want to see punches on your work for this month.  I also raided the scrap box and used up a bunch of those tiny bits of paper that are usually no good for anything but you keep them anyway!

All the papers are DCWV, from the Summer Dreams and Flower Shower matstacks, I have a habit of keeping all the loose bits of “good” paper in with the stack they came out of, but I went through them all and put all the snippets in the scrap box for future use.  The card blank was free from a UK craft magazine and I cut it down a bit to make more of a square.  About the only embellishment are the few gems in the flower centres and at the corners.  I also popped the main image up on foam dots too.

Card Recipe:

  • Card: Freebie blank ~ The Paper Company
  • DP: DCWV Summer Dreams & Flower Shower scraps
  • Stamp: House Mouse “In A Nutshell”
  • Inks: Memories Black Dye ~ Memento Summer Sky, Night Sky, Sahara Sand, Gingerbread, Lilac Posies, & Cottage Ivy
  • Embellies: Flower gems unknown ~ Silver gems from Michaels ~ Tsukineko Black Pen
  • Tools: Cuttlebug ~ Scalloped Square Nestie ~ 2″ Marvy Uchida Square Punch ~ EKSuccess Flower Punches ~ McGill Frond Punch

*********************************************************************

Challenges:

House Mouse & Friends ~ Make A Splash

Fuzzy Wuzzy ~ Get Punchy

Sketch & Stash ~ Current sketch and new stamp

Jules Crafty Snippet Challenge ~ Use up your scraps

Crafty Calendar Challenge ~ Under The Sea or a Water theme