** God I just love computers, brilliant when they’re working but bloody annoying when the crash on you twice in 15 minutes and you lose everything you’d just typed, and by that I mean this post! Twice!**

Like the title says, never could follow instructions!  Sarn at Stamping For Pleasure wants us to make six Christmas cards, all the same, for this months Rudolph Day Challenge!  After I picked myself up off the floor at the thought of producing six cards I rootled through my Christmas paper scraps box to see what I could come up with as I didn’t want to cut into any more full sheets of paper for this.  Naturally I couldn’t produce enough snippets to make all the cards exactly the same so I decided to make them all to the same design instead, that way I could pair up pieces of snippets and reduce that mountain somewhat.  So my cards are the same but not identical, rather like brothers and sisters instead of sextuplets!

And just to show that these are all indeed snippets, here’s my desk when I was pairing up colours and patterns.

And here are all six of the cards together, hard to photograph to show you them.  All of the pieces of ribbon are also offcuts and were all lying around on my desk too!  The green grosgrain on the left is the ribbon that I picked up on the stairs at work last week, obviously someone spent that day walking around the building with only one bow in their hair!!  The cards are quite small, 5″ x 4.5″, and I employed the production line technique to speed up the process, very important as it was 101F (37C) yesterday and it was a tad warm in my upstairs room!  After cutting the papers to size I used a corner rounder on the bottom piece and wrapped a coordinating ribbon around the top piece before sticking them down.  I chose matching inks and stamped the same sentiment from a Fiskars set on to scraps of the stamping card before cutting them out.  I also added a single pearl in the same or a coordinating colour.

I stood a couple of them on an embellishment tin that was on my desk but it’s still not great so here are a few more pics.

Greens – This is the pair that I think needs a little more work, I put the ribbon too high on the paper and it just doesn’t look right.  I’m thinking something small, like a punched snowflake with a gem in the centre, stuck to the ribbon on the left would be best.  Papers are DCWV on the left and on the right, DCWV (top) and MME (bottom).  Ink is Versamagic Brilliance Cottage Ivy.

Blues – I like these, especially the one on the right.  Papers are DCWV on the left and on the right all digital freebies, at the top from Jen Allyson @ Two Peas In A Bucket and I’m afraid I can’t recall the bottom piece but it was also a free digital download.  Ink is ColorBox Q Sapphire Silk.  You might notice that the sentiment on the left has a blue border around it…. my production line broke down right there as I cut the panel 1/4″ too small so had to mount it on a bit of blue Bazzil!

Reds & Pinks – These two are my favourites, along with the right hand blue one above.  Papers on the left are Bo Bunny (top) and DCWV, ink is Versamagic Brilliance Old Olive.  On the right we have MME (top) and a piece from a Crafts Beautiful free paper pad on the bottom, and the ink is ColorBox Q Merlot.

Card Recipe:

  • Card: Blanks from Michaels ~ Bazzil
  • DP: DCWV ~ MME ~ Jen Allyson Free Digi Download ~ Bo Bunny ~ Crafts Beautiful Magazine Free Christmas Papers
  • Stamp: Fiskars Seasons Greetings Set
  • Ink: Versamagic Brilliance Old Olive & Cottage Ivy ~ ColorBox Q Merlot & Sapphire Silk
  • Tools: Fiskars Corner Rounder
  • Embellies: Ribbon off cuts from various sources including found and magazine freebies ~ Pearls from Michaels ~ Star from ??

*******************************************************

Challenges:

Rudolph Day ~ Multiple Choice

Pixie’s Craft Workshop ~ Use Up Your Snippets

Winter Wonderland ~ Monochromatic (I think most of these cards are mon0chromatic but just ignore if they’re not enough)

One Stop Craft Challenge ~ Christmas In June