Well, I’m back with more Christmas cards using Penny Black stamps.  Been having lots of fun in the last few days getting reacquainted with my PB’s.   This is a bit photo heavy as I couldn’t make up my mind which photos to show you so you’re getting them all!

I haven’t popped in to see the lovely ladies of the Jingles Belles Challenge in a while so I thought I’d better rectify that and I was lucky to find a great little sketch there for this fortnight.  And of course PBSC have switched to a monthly format so I’m entering for a second time there.  Plus there are other challenges, list at the end as usual.

And I’ve also being getting into the habit of making more than one card at a time too, especially if they’re nice and simple in design.  So lets start off with the green, traditional version.

The stamps and technique is exactly the same for each card.  The Penny Black cling stamp Poinsettia Script was stamped onto the smoother back side of a cream piece of Bazzil card in Brilliance Cottage Ivy ink and then cut into thirds to meet the sketch LO from Jingle Belles, and edged with the same ink.  The sentiment is also PB and it was stamped in the same way on the back of the Bazzil, cut out with a Nesties Label Two die, embossed to give that nice raised edge and then mounted on to some scrap green card using the trick of tracing around the outside of the same Nestie used for the sentiment and cutting it out.  It was then popped up with foam dots for a little relief. The only embellies are the strip of green checked ribbon which was free from a UK card magazine and the little Christmas tree button.  I threaded the ribbon through the back of the button, v-notched it and used Glossy Accents to keep it in place.

Card number two was completed in exactly the same way using Memento Purple Hydrangea ink and lilac Bazzil.  The ribbon this time was a cut from a gift I received last year and I used a Jolees snowflake embellishment to anchor the design.

These might look complicated, but apart from making sure they were lined up properly they’re actually really simple, due in large part to the size of the Poinsettia Script stamp.  they’re also frugal as they’re all made with scraps too.  I’m not sure which one I like the most but I have a burning desire to make more of these in different colours, and right now red, silver, gold and blue are at the top of the list!

Card Recipe:

  • Card: White blank from Michaels ~ The Paper Company Kraft ~ Bazzil ~ DCWV
  • Stamp: Penny Black Poinsettia Script cling & Joy, Hope wood stamp (3028F)
  • Ink: Brilliance Cottage Ivy & Memento Purple Hydrangea
  • Embellies: Ribbon ~ Jolee Snowflake ~ Jessie James Button
  • Tools: Cuttlebug ~ Nesities Label Two ~ Foam Dots

**************************************************

Challenges:

PBSC ~ Double Trouble (More than one stamp)

Jingle Belles ~ Oh Christmas Sketch

Pixies Crafty Snippets Challenge ~ Use Up Your Scraps (these are all from the scrap box apart from the card blanks)

Just Keep On Creating ~ Christmas Is Right Around The Corner

My Mum’s Craft Shop ~ Kraft It (Green & Kraft card only)