This is one of the ideas that has been floating around in my head for a few days, so yesterday I sat down to plan and to match up papers and cards stock as I also thought this might be a good way to use up snippets.

My idea was to use the reverse image from a punch or die, that usually gets discarded, and back it with a piece of appropriate Christmas paper and to set it on a piece of plain, embossed card stock.  Sounds complicated?  Not at all, and another way to extend the use of those expensive dies and punches too.

I’ll apologise now for the photo quality, sorry to harp on but this little cheap camera struggles with more than one thing to focus on.  One thing that has seriously impressed me though is it’s battery life.  Bear in mind that I last charged and used this camera in October of last year…. I dug it out again when Andrew went to England but haven’t found the battery charger for it yet!  After a year in a drawer the battery showed two green bars still, and now, three weeks later, it’s down to two red bars.  It’s going to die on me soon so I don’t have the luxury of retaking these photos as I want to do my desk for WOYWW on Wednesday and I’ll need a pic of another card I’m working on too.  But a whole year on a single charge!  You have to admit that’s impressive!!

So, on to the cards.  Small at 5″ by 4.5″, and very flat too, so easy on the postage costs.  And apart from the card blanks, they’re all snippets, both card pieces and backing papers.

Hope you can make them out through the bad pics!!  I embossed the plain card with various embossing folders, the one on the left is a Craft Concepts diamond patchwork type of thing, the pink in the middle uses the Cuttlebug Swiss Dots, the blue on the right is the Cuttlebug Snowflake folder and the top brown one is a Sizzix Ribbon folder.  There’s a large Martha snowflake punch, a Provocraft heart die, a Memory Box snowflake and the Hero Arts tree die.  The card is a mix of Bazzil, DCWV, The Paper Company and Recollections; and the DP is DCWV, MME and two digital pieces from Two Peas In A Bucket (the brown tree card and the blue snowflake on the right.)  The top sentiment is from TPC Studio and the bottom three are all Fiskars.  The one on the left is impossible to read, so I’ll tell you is says “Make A Snowman”, and the O of snow is actually a cute little snowman!

I have a couple more of these on the go, but as Rudolph Day is coming up on the 25th, I’ll show you those then!!

Card Recipe:

  • Card: Blanks from Michaels ~ The Paper Company ~ DCWV ~ Bazzil ~ Recollections
  • DP: MME ~ DCWV ~ Betsy Tuma for Two Peas In A Bucket (free digi paper)
  • Stamps: Fiskars Seasons Greeting’s ~ TPC Studio Vintage Christmas
  • Ink: DI Barn Door ~ Memento Pixie Dust, Night Sky, Gingerbread ~ Memento Brilliance Moonlight White
  • Embellies: Buttons and Embroidery thread
  • Tools: Memory Box Crystal Snowflake Die ~ Martha Stewart Himalayan Snowflake Punch ~ Provocraft Nester Heart Die ~ Hero Arts Christmas Trees Stamp/Die Set ~ Sizzix, Craft Concepts & Cuttlebug Embossing Folders

***************************************************

Challenges:

Pixies’s Crafty Snippets Challenge ~ Use Up Your Scraps

ABC Christmas – U For Up To You (make anything you’d like)

Pile It On – Holidays

Stamptacular Sunday ~ No Rules

Totally Papercrafts ~ Christmas

Flourishes ~ Winter Themed