I received a little crafty parcel form the UK with some Artemio embossing powders and an embossing ink pad, a little pressie from my Mam, who often send me bits and pieces over!  She had used them herself and really liked them, I think they came from the Create & Craft TV channel, so she ordered another set and sent them on to me.  I liked the look of the sparkly copper powder and thought it might go well with kraft card.

I’d been inspired by a card with buildings and snow on it earlier in the week and I had the perfect Penny Black stamp available to try out something similar, it’s called Christmas Village, and now I think about it, my Mam gave me the stamp too, lol!  Edited to add: When I linked up at PB&More At Allsorts, I found my inspiration card in their GDT spot, that’s where I’d seen it before!  Sarah created it, and I’ve linked her name so you can have a peek at her beautiful card.

It was a bit hard to photograph, but you really get the idea of how lovely that embossing powder is.  I also went a bit mad with the Frantage too!  Anyway, I cut a piece of The Paper Company kraft card to size, stamped my image with Versamark ink and embossed with the copper EP.  I added some white snow with a Prisma pencil and then distressed the edges with a Tim Holtz edge distressing tool.

I then laid out some Shabby White Frantage on a sheet of scrap paper, dabbed each edge in turn with the Versamark and dipped it in the Frantage and heat embossed.  When all edges were done I sprinkled a bit more around the image and heat set that.  The sentiment came from a stamp set that was free with a UK card magazine (and yes, I got it from my Mam too!), and I embossed it with the Copper EP.  The sentiment was cut out with a McGill punch and it and the card base were edged with ColorBox Q white ink.  Some bakers twine was wrapped around the image panel and the tag was tied on to it.

Card Recipe:

  • Card: Blank from Michaels ~ The Paper Company Kraft
  • Stamps: Penny Black Village Christmas ~ Sentiment from a set free with a UK card magazine
  • Ink: Versamark ~ ColorBox Q White Pigment Ink
  • Embellies: Artemio Copper EP ~ Frantage Shabby White EP ~ Bakers Twine
  • Tools: Heat Gun ~ McGill Scalloped Tag Punch

**************************************************

Challenges:

Penny Black & More At Allsorts ~ Anything Goes

Stamping Sensations ~ Christmas

Penny Black Saturday Challenge ~ Sparklers

Beccy’s Place ~ Holiday Card Challenge (Day 16 Kraft)

Pixie’s Snippets Playground ~ Use Up Your Scraps (The kraft card (but not the card base))

Christmas Cards All Year Round ~ Winter Theme (Snow, snowflakes etc)

Crafty Hazelnut’s Christmas Extra Challenge ~ Anything Goes

Papertake Weekly ~ Snow & Ice

Crafty Calendar Challenge ~ All Things Christmas

Stampin’ For The Weekend ~ Autumn Colours

Sweet Stampin’ Challenge ~ Use Tags

Jingle Belles ~ Christmas Traditions (We would go and visit my Gran every Christmas.  She lived in the North of England and there was usually snow on the ground.  Although her village looked nothing like this one, there was a church and I could see that steeple for a couple of miles as we approached.  This scene reminded me of driving up to hers every year, in the snow, and looking out for my first glimpse of the church, which told me we were almost there.)

Deep Ocean Challenges ~ Winter

Bunny Zoe’s Challenge ~ Shabby Chic/Vintage

ABC Christmas Challenge ~ Winter Wishes

Fresh Brewed Designs ~ Let It Snow/Christmas

Sister Act Card Challenge ~ Anything Goes

Christmas Card Challenge ~ Bling